When it comes to practicing massage therapy professionally, you will need to meet certain state and local requirements depending on where you intend to practice.
In 48 out of 5o states, you need some kind of credential to work as a massage therapist and each state has its own regulations.
In 44 out of the 48 states previously mentioned (plus Washington D.C., Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands), you are required to take and pass the MBLEx to become licensed to practice as a massage therapist.
Also, licensure isn’t a one time thing. To renew your license, you will usually have to also complete some Continuing Education (CE) course hours.
In addition to obtaining and renewing your license, you will also have to follow the specific acts, rules, regulations, and laws of your state regarding the practice of massage therapy.
In Maryland you can become either a Licensed Massage Therapist or a Registered Massage Practitioner. To become a Licensed Massage Therapist you need to complete 600 hours of massage therapy school, plus 60 college credits (of which 24 must be in the subject of allied health), and pass either the MBLEx or NCETMB.
To renew your Maryland accreditation, you must complete 24 hours of CE: three hours of ethics training, three hours of communicable disease training, one hour of diversity training, and 17 of massage-related CE.
Here is contact information for Maryland’s State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners:
Maryland Board of Massage Therapy Examiners
4201 Patterson Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21215-2299